• Posted 25-Oct-2016

New transnational cooperation programme for the Balkan-Mediterranean area

The European Commission adopted for the first time a transnational cooperation programme for the Balkan-Mediterranean (Interreg Balkan-Mediterranean).

The new programme, covers the Balkan Peninsula and the Eastern Mediterranean Sea, bringing together three EU countries - Greece, Bulgaria and Cyprus - and two candidate countries - Albania and the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia-. The programme focuses on supporting entrepreneurship and innovation and on preserving the region's natural and cultural heritage. Over €28 million from the European Regional Development Fund and more than €5 million from the Instrument for Pre-accession Assistance will be allocated to the programme. With national co-financing included, the total budget of the programme amounts to almost €40 million.

More information: